It’s the weekend that marks the occasion of the 137th anniversary of the formation of Linfield Football Club and David Healy’s team will aim to win the prestigious BetMcLean NIFL League Cup trophy for the first time since an Andrew Waterworth goal sealed a 1-0 win against Ballymena United in 2019. 

The game is due to be broadcast live on the Sky Sports network. 

All available South and Kop Stand match tickets have been snapped up but a number of Railway Stand tickets remain available from the NIFL website. 

Link to BetMcLean Cup Final Tickets

The BetMcLean Cup Final is arranged under the auspices of the Northern Ireland Football League, so Linfield members, season tickets and premier seat passes are not valid for this game. 

NIFL have produced a souvenir match day programme for the game. 

The referees for Sunday’s eagerly anticipated cup final are Lee Tavinder whose assistants will be Paul Robinson and Bogdan Sfirloaga. The 4th official will be Jamie Robinson and Brian Wilson will be the reserve assistant referee. 

Linfield and Coleraine have met on three occasions this season – home and away scoreless League draws were followed by a recent 2-0 Linfield win at Windsor Park. A further League game is to be scheduled for the Showgrounds in April. 

Linfield have won 2 previous League Cup finals against Coleraine. 

In 1994 goals by Gary Peebles and Raymond Campbell gave Linfield a 2-0 win and in 2000 goals by Tony Gorman, Chris Morgan, David Larmour and Pat McShane sealed a 4-0 win for Linfield. 

On the way to the final Linfield defeated 

September 13 – Moyola Park 1 Linfield 5
(Quinn, Millar, A. Clarke, Vertainen and McDaid) 

October 4 – Dundela 0 Linfield 1 

November 1 – Linfield 3 Annagh United 0 
(Cooper 2 and McStravick) 

December 6 – Glentoran 0 Linfield 3 
(Roscoe, Vertainen and Palmer)

Leave a Reply